Why POTS Princess?

Haley FayePostural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS). I was finally diagnosed in 2014 at age 17, but have suffered the symptoms on and off my whole life. It causes me to pass out, sweat, get pale, have dizzy spells, chest pain, brain fog, shaking spells, anxiety, nausea, and other various symptoms. To put it plainly, it sucks. A lot of people have found a blog helps them cope. They can publish their ideas and struggles. Recently I have received a lot of questions and stares, so I am posting this blog to let people inside my head a bit. However, this isn’t a “my life sucks feel sorry for me” blog. Since I was born, my Papa has called me Princess, and it’s a term I have embraced and strived for. POTS affects every aspect of my life, but I am determined to not let it keep me down. I didn’t name this blog “POTS Princess” just because it’s alliterative (though the English nerd in me does love that), it is a symbol of not letting my identity be completely controlled by my sickness. I am all the things I have always been (crazy, classy, artsy, etc), I just also have POTS. So, don’t look at me like I’m broken or ask me how I’m doing 24/7 (though I do greatly appreciate the compassion I’ve been shown and asking me how I’m feeling is fine if it’s not the only thing you’re asking), just look at me like I’m Haley.

Leave a Reply

