Avoidance

I have not posted on the blog in a long time. It is not because of a lack of words to say, but the issue of not wanting to accept the words I have to say. When I last posted, I genuinely believed my POTS wasn’t going to be a big problem anymore. I thought that I wouldn’t have to tell people, that I would be able to just be “normal.” That is, until I passed out in front of a lot of people before I was going to assist in leading music for a student-led ministry. It smacked me in the face about the time that the floor did that I couldn’t escape POTS. Instead of accepting that and dealing with it, though, I reverted to the old potsie stand by–avoidance. That mentality of “maybe if I don’t acknowledge it, it will go away.” Anyone that has tried that before knows you can’t keep it up for long, at least without consequences. I started hiding in my room more and being overly paranoid– if I even felt a little off I wouldn’t go do things I wanted to because I was so afraid of passing out in front of people again.

Thankfully I found a group of wonderful girls that encouraged me to be social and get out of my comfort zone. They invested in me-they cared. Some of them knew about my POTS and some did not. Even those that knew, though, didn’t know the full extent. But they saw me for me and help me rediscover the version of myself the POTS paranoia was drowning. This semester I was blessed to officially join their sisterhood- I found where I belong. With their help, and of course a lot of prayer, I have been able to face this semester head on. I am balancing a social life, school work, and  job, but I’m not afraid of it anymore. Spells still happen, that’s something I need to expect could quite possibly last the rest of my life, but I don’t hide from it anymore.

13

It is so easy when you have a chronic illness to try to ignore the problem and avoid dealing with it. However, while you’re sickness is a legitimate part of you, there is so much more to you than just your sickness. Don’t do what I did and let it control your whole life- even more than it tries to demand.

16

5

Leave a Reply

